Last but Not Least

 

Looking back on this semester, I can say I have learned more than I ever thought possible. And…when I say I’ve learned, I mean like I have really learned, applied, and taught a shitload of things. Mostly thanks to great professors, but also I can credit myself for hustling and staying motivated.

One of the GREATEST things I can say I learned this year is the RACE process. When I was first learning about it, I probably wouldn’t have known this. After being in the Grand Valley PRSSA club and having speakers talk to us, and going to conferences, you wouldn’t believe how many times I have referred to the RACE process in my head or heard others using it.

To describe RACE in my own words, it is a process used during the stages of a Public Relations Campaign. A simple explanation of the process is given in the article, RACE formula defines good PR:

The best public relations is research-based. Step one, if you hope to influence public opinion, is establishing a starting point: You research the existing opinions and attitudes of your target audience. In step two, you analyse that information, using it to prepare a communications plan. You then execute your plan (step three) and, in a fourth step, review your efforts and monitor your impact. In the PR business, that process is captured in a formula called RACE: Research, Analyse, Communicate and Evaluate. Remember that acronym and it will bring discipline to all of your public communications (Hoggan, p. 1. 2007).

 The process can be looked at as a sort of rough outline to go off of to make sure all of the important points are fulfilled.

R – Research

A – Action (plan)

C – Communication

E – Evaluation

Today, I would like to focus on the E, evaluation. According to John Marston, a PR blogger, the evaluation step can be defined as,”the final phase, it is all about asking, was the audience reached and what was the effect. It reviews how the public perceives the organisaiton by looking over the first three stages. After all the checks have been made the process can be started again targeting another issue” (Marston, para. 4. 2013). Most people may not realize, but once a campaign is out there and done…it is not actually done. This is one of the most important parts of the process because it is a learning opportunity for the future.

 

 

 

References

Hoggan, J. (2007, May 19). RACE formula defines good PR. The Vancouver Sun Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com.ezproxy.gvsu.edu/docview/242103489?accountid=39473

Sophieanderson2013, P. B. (2013, April 14). The four-step PR concept created by John Marston – RACE. Retrieved April 12, 2017, from https://introtopronetothree.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/the-four-step-pr-concept-created-by-john-marston-race/

Leave a Reply

