I came…and Conquered

In the beginning of the semester, I wrote about what PR means to me. I gave my own definition as well as using definitions that have been given by scholars and organizations.

Today I plan to do a reflection on that first post. On that day, I decided what PR means to me and hears what I said, “In my own words PR is defined as ‘career made up of trends. A person with a career in PR is constantly keeping up with whats going on in daily news, on top of every event or story, has to be knowledgeable in many different topics for the purpose of working with a multitude of clients, having to always research and study up on different topics. To me, public relations is more than just a career, it’s a lifestyle.'”

I would say that my personal definition of public relations remains the same as the one that I gave above. My experience throughout the semester has only encouraged my initial definition. During the past year I have been exposed to many aspects of PR in many different ways. Having speakers in class has been very helpful to get insight of what PR is like in the real world for a recent post graduate student. It is awesome to see the success of people who were just in your position a few years ago and find out how they did it. This is one of my favorite things in class and another reason why I love being in PRSSA so much!

Looking back on the semester of CAP 220, I realize how much I have learned in such a short amount of time. My campaign assignment was the biggest assignment I have done so far in my education. In my opinion, it was very beneficial to be given a sort of “boot camp” training throughout the semester to get us ready for the last assignment. Although the project was time consuming, required a ton of critical thinking, and was pretty difficult….now that I am done with it, I honestly really enjoyed doing all of the parts to it. This makes me feel great about my future and the career path that I have chosen for myself.

Public Relations is a fast pace, chaotic, and adventurous industry. With that being said, I cannot wait to begin my career in PR! I was lucky to have a great professor who really makes clear how much she cares about the success of her students. I am a terrible test taker and that is one of the reasons I excel in classes that are application based. I am able to learn so much better and faster. That is what CAP 220 was, and I am so thankful for that.

I believe that I absolutely have a better grasp on what PR is. It is so fulfilling to hear professionals talking and being able to relate to them and completely understand what they are talking about. On the first day of class I was worried about the tasks I was going to be given. I have conquered and I could not be more proud of myself.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

